Enquiries from Google Ads
How to get function & event enquiries from Google Ads
There are only 4 ways to increase revenue in hospitality:
Get more first-time bookings
Get more repeat bookings
Get larger booking sizes
Increase average spend per person
Getting more functions and events is a revenue growth hack because, if successful, you can get more bookings, in larger group sizes and higher spend per person all at the same time.
If your restaurant or venue can host more events, I recommend exploring Google Ads as the channel to help you get more enquiries.
Here's how it works (easy version).
Your ad only shows up when someone makes a specific search in Google.
For example, "Corporate Christmas party venue Melbourne"
You only pay when someone clicks on the ad, this is why it's sometimes called PPC (pay per click).
The user who clicks on the ad is sent to a website landing page of your choosing.
From there, the landing page's job is to convert the traffic into an enquiry.
A bad landing page might get zero enquiries. The best landing pages might convert 7% of traffic.
Example
A venue spends $1000 on Google Ads monthly.
The average cost per click is $4
That yields around 250 website visitors (because 1000 / 4 = 250)
The website converts 6% of the traffic into an enquiry
250 x 0.06 = 15 enquiries
If the events person converts 33% of enquiries into booked events
Then 15 x 33% = 5 events booked
If the average event booked generated $4k in revenue
Then revenue = 5 x $4000 = $20k
All from $1k of ad spend. In this scenario, 20:1 x ROI
But wait, there's more...
Because this venue can track a 20:1 x ROI, they can now confidently increase ad budget, to grow enquiries further.
If you have a restaurant or venue, that can accommodate more events, and you're not running Google Ads, you might be missing out on your most profitable, predictable and scalable channel.
Right now we're using Google Ads to generate more than 100,000 function enquiries per year for our clients.